UNIVERSITY OF WASHINGTON Department of Cinema and Media Studies

BY-LAWS

- 1. Members of the faculty must have formal academic training in the area of Comparative Literature or Cinema and Media Studies or the equivalent and demonstrate comparative interests that contribute to the teaching programs of the department.
- 2. Members of the Cinema and Media Studies faculty who are voting members of the University Faculty shall be voting members of the department whether or not Cinema and Media Studies is their primary department.
- 3. Actions concerning new appointments, reappointment, promotion, and tenure shall be taken by the eligible voting members of the faculty, at a faculty meeting, upon recommendation by the Executive Committee or by a committee appointed by the Chair. In the absence of a majority vote of the entire faculty at such a meeting, the Executive Committee may recommend conducting a mail (or email, or electronic) ballot on the matter.
- 4. The faculty delegate authority to the chair to take action on matters concerning temporary, short-term and visiting appointments. The chair may refer the decision on any such matter to a vote of the faculty, at a department meeting convened for the purpose or by a mail (or email, or electronic) ballot.
- 5. The Executive Committee shall represent the voting faculty in providing advice to the Chair as required in the case of competitive offers. The committee may, at its discretion, refer the decision on any such matter to a vote of the faculty, at a department meeting convened for the purpose or by a mail (or email, or electronic) ballot.
- 6. The Executive Committee shall consist of four members: three voting members of the Cinema and Media Studies faculty who are elected for overlapping three-year terms; and the chair. The members of the Executive Committee are nominated and elected by the voting faculty in a mail ballot and, if no member receives a simple majority, a second vote on the two (or more, if there are ties) receiving the most votes will be conducted. New terms begin on September 16 of each year. If an elected member of the Executive Committee is unable to complete his or her term of office, a special election will be held to select a replacement to complete that term.
- 7. The Standing Committees of the department are: the Graduate Studies Committee, the Undergraduate Education Committee, the Diversity Committee, and the Grievance Committee. The Chair appoints members of the Standing Committees with the approval of the Executive Committee.
 - a) The Graduate Studies Committee will be responsible for making recommendations to the faculty concerning matters of graduate degree programs, admissions, and curriculum; it shall include the Director of Graduate Studies, two additional faculty members (one of whom shall be designated a representive of diversity interests) and a graduate student representative chosen by the current graduate students.
 - b) The Undergraduate Education Committee will be responsible for making recommendations to the faculty concerning matters of undergraduate degree programs and curriculum; it shall include the Director of Undergraduate Studies and at least two additional faculty members (one of whom shall be designated a representive of diversity interests).

- c) The Diversity Committee shall include at least three appointed faculty members: the committee chair, the Undergraduate Education Committeee representative, and the Graduate Studies Committee representative; voting members may also include a representative of the department staff, the graduate students, and/or the undergraduate students. The Diversity Committee shall advise the department on the development and implementation of strategic planning pertaining to all areas of departmental diversity.
- d) The Grievance Committee shall include the Chair, the Director of Graduate Studies, and the Director of Undergraduate Studies; it is responsible for dealing with all formal complaints filed by students with the department.
- 8. When the Executive Committee deems it necessary, it may appoint an <u>ad hoc</u> committee to advise it on any particular subject. <u>Ad hoc</u> committees may include voting student representatives.
- 9. The Chair shall call meetings of the Executive Committee or of the faculty when they are needed. Any member of the Executive Committee may call a meeting of the Executive Committee. In addition, the Executive Committee, or any three members of the Cinema and Media Studies faculty, may convene a faculty meeting.
- 10. At least once a year the Chair shall inform the faculty, at a meeting, of the actions taken in the department and plans for the future.
- 11. Amendments to these by-laws will take effect when they have been ratified by a simple majority of the eligible voting faculty.

Last updated: 6 March 2020